User Tools

Site Tools


unbound:rules:reach

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision
unbound:rules:reach [2024/08/07 04:15] – [Threatened Squares] tailkinkerunbound:rules:reach [Unknown date] (current) – removed - external edit (Unknown date) 127.0.0.1
Line 1: Line 1:
-====== Reach ====== 
- 
-Reach is the distance at which a character can attack an opponent with melee weapons, natural attacks, or unarmed strikes without having to move from their current position. This distance is typically based on the length of a character's limbs or the size and type of their wielded weapon. 
- 
-A creature of Small or Medium size will typically have a Reach of 1.  This means that they can attack a creature located in an adjacent square.  For the sake of simplicity, we consider squares that are diagonal to be adjacent. 
- 
-Creatures that are Large, or even larger, may have a greater base Reach.  The typical Reach of a creature is given in the [[unbound:rules:creature_size|Creature Size]] page.  A creature with Reach greater than 1 can attack foes at a greater distance. 
- 
-Creatures that are Tiny or Diminutive have a Reach of 0.  Creatures with a Reach of 0 must be in the same square as their target in order to attack them.  Luckily for those creatures, they typically //can// enter their foe's square. 
- 
-Creatures that are Fine have a Reach of Close.  This means that their Reach is 0, //and can never be improved//. 
- 
-===== Diagonal Reach ===== 
- 
-Reach counts off its diagonal squares in the same fashion as [[unbound:rules:Movement]]:  The first square counts as one, the second as two, the third as one, the fourth as two, and so on.  Creatures with Reach of 2 or better will lose some of their corner squares as a result, as shown in the diagram below. 
- 
-{{ :unbound:rules:reach.svg |}} 
- 
-===== Threatened Squares ===== 
- 
-A creature that could make a melee or unarmed attack into a square is said to **threaten** that square.  If a creature provokes a Counterattack from a threatening creature, the threatening creature can make a [[unbound:actions:Counterattack]] against the provoking creature within the threatened square. 
  
unbound/rules/reach.1723004154.txt.gz · Last modified: by tailkinker